Monday, January 10, 2011

2011 Winners Announced!

This very morning -- January 10, 2011 -- the American Library Association announced its annual awards for the best in Children's and Young Adult literature!

The 2011 Caldecott Award went to Erin E. Stead for her illustrations in A Sick Day for Amos McGee.

The 2011 Newbery Award went to Clare Vanderpool for her book Moon Over Manifest.

The 2011 Sibert Award for outstanding children's nonfiction went to Sy Montgomery and Nic Bishop for Kakapo Rescue.

The Geisel Award for outstanding beginning reader was won by Bink and Gollie, written by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee and illustrated by Tony Fucile.

The Pura Belpre Award, for outstanding contributions to Latina/Latino literature for children went to Grandma's Gift, written and illustrated by Eric Velasquez (illustration) and The Dreamer by Pam Munoz Ryan (text).

For a complete list of all the winners and honor books, visit the American Library Association website to read the press release.

No comments: